church, with a dark and atmospheric interior.
church dates from 1170, with a tower added in the 15th. It was restored
by two of the giants of 19th century ecclesiastical architecture,
George Gilbert Scott in 1858 and and J L Pearson in 1885.
interior retains much from the original building, including the Early
English porch, nave arcades and the chancel. This has triple lancets
at the east end, and more lancets on the north and south sides, all with
deep recesses. The nave arcade has splendid piers, each with detached
shafts and a generous band of stiff leaf carving on the capitals. The
aisle and transept windows are Decorated Gothic in style, and mostly filled
with heavy Victorian glass.
Furnishings of interest are limited,
except the font, dated 1200, which is decorated with panels divided by
attached shafts, containing flowing fleur-de-lis. The gloomy interior is
enlivened by a bright display of tapestry kneelers.
High Road, Weston, Spalding, Lincolnshire PE12 6HS